Image credit: Pixabay

Why are there so many damn mosquitos?

A Spiritual Lesson in Energy Exchange

Bevin Niemann-Cortez
4 min readOct 7, 2018

--

I don’t know about other parts of the world, but in the southern half of the United States, we’re facing an epidemic of insects. Two years of very mild winters followed by excessively rainy summers and the mosquito population has exploded!

I love to walk in the forest and by far, my favorite time of day is right at sunset. There’s just something magical about the light, the vibration.

Lately, I’ve been worried about getting carried off by an army of bloodsucking vampires. No, not just because Halloween is coming.

I have at least 100 bites on my body. Itching like friggin’ crazy, so bad I finally resigned to take medication. Reluctantly, I’ve limited my time outside and waiting for the temperature to drop, come on!

Whenever any animal comes this prominently into my life, I get curious.

As an animal empath, I’m a strong believer in the power of spirit animals to show us exactly what we need to know, when we need to hear it.

Today, I researched the spiritual qualities of a mosquito; what I found was spot on.

From Spirit-animals.com:
‘If Mosquito is a constant pest in your life, then you need to look at your environment both at work and at home, something needs to be changed within it. You have chosen a somewhat difficult life path as you tend to float in the realm of high ideals. You have a tendency to be blunt and easily find fault in others — however recognize what you find lacking in others is often reflected in yourself.

You have been focusing on issues that do not apply to your own personal growth or getting caught up in the drama of others. One way or another you are having your energy drained in a way that is not healthy for you.’

Well, damn.

What I take away is the spiritual lesson of energy exchange.

Something I have written taught about for a long time, but is always worth a reminder.

Empaths can easily get entangled in the dense energies of our world. And the climate in the U.S. over the past week has been very strained, tense and combative.

I chose to engage in the public sphere in a way I hadn’t for a long time. I felt a responsibility to be present to what I see is a crucial crossroads for our nation and our world. It was, in it’s own way cathartic, yet also incredibly draining.

When an empath decides to engage in emotionally charged situations, know you will need several days or more to ‘come down’ from it.

Alone time, detachment from media, a hot bath, concentrating on things that bring relaxation, peace and contentment. Listening to your favorite music, cleaning up your home office, staying hydrated, meditation — whatever you need to come back to center.

I realized the mosquitos have been drawn to me because my energy is zapped and vulnerable — I need a recharge. And also because I chose to stroll through their environment right when they like to emerge. Fresh meat!

Being an empath sometimes feels like a challenge, but really it’s simply a matter of paying close attention to your energy field. How are you using it and to whom are you offering your time, energy and attention?

Take control of your field, you have sovereignty. Choose your battles wisely, share your energy with those who reciprocate.

The mosquitos will eventually die back, but this lesson about spiritual energy exchange will live on.

Be aware of the vampires, my empath friends…

It’s time to acknowledge, you’ve always been Powerfully Perceptive.

Being a perceptive soul is not a weakness, on the contrary, being tuned-in to everything requires a deep well of strength. We often don’t fit in with mainstream culture, we embody a unique way of thinking, sensing and being. To hold your space, just as you are, requires courage and resilience. Often, you’re not exactly sure where this journey will lead.

An experienced mentor who’s walked this path can alert you to potential dips and curves in the road.

I invite you to explore whether Powerfully Perceptive Mentoring might be the next step on your personal growth journey.

Learn more and schedule a complimentary call to see if we vibe…

--

--

Bevin Niemann-Cortez

Social-Emotional Healer | Sacred Space Designer | Budding Herbalist